Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 13th, 2009

Movies of the week

Yesterday was an official holiday at UCSB. I went to see the new Cohen brothers movie: A serious man.

It is about a physics professor in the late 60’s who is facing tenure and is besieged by all kinds of things that make life not worth living. It is a very dark comedy, in a sense about the meaning of life (or the lack of it). For some strange reason I felt at home in the movie (never mind the fact that I belong to the category of people who can spot errors in the uncertainty formulas as they’re being written on the blackboard, or maybe I didn’t spot it because afterwards it was ok). I recommend that if you are physicist that you go see the movie. You might also feel at home there.

Read Full Post »