Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 2nd, 2008

Lost in Japan

 

I’ve been in Japan for the past two weeks. I’ve had a great time, but at the same time I’ve had a very hectic schedule: six talks in two weeks in various cities. I have been riding the bullet trains and the Tokyo train and subway system. I’ve been ordering food from menus I don’t understand a single word of, and I’ve been getting lost just trying to get out of various train stations. I also have a lot of work to do and have been rather busy doing it. If you are into movies, the one that best describes being lost in a place where suddenly one doesn’t know how to speak or write is “Lost in translation”. I really like it, but it becomes a lot more real after you have experienced the effect yourself.

Right now, I’m at the airport with a little bit of free time, and there is an animated television on the airport TV while I type this. I will give you a glimpse of what I have seen.

(more…)

Read Full Post »